Mission Statement

Venturevilla is a safe place for startups and stands for equality of opportunity and diversity.

Background

The quota of female founders in Germany is currently at only 15,7% ( source: Female Founders Monitor ) and female teams are also underprivileged when it comes to funding due to gender bias.

Reason for this is a structural discrimination in the branch of startups. Female founders in our periphery have also repeatedly spoken up about discrimination they experienced personally. Here at VentureVilla we support all founders equally, regardless of their gender, ethnicity or other traits. This is self-evident for us, but sadly not a commonly practiced standard in our branch. For that reason, we have decided to communicate our positioning on this more intensively.

VentureVilla as a Safe Space

Due to our advisory offer for startups in the fields of web and software technologies we are a trustworthy and competent partner for founding teams. We take our responsibility towards the startups very seriously and enable a safe space within VentureVilla for founders. That includes mutual trust, a respectful cooperation and the guarantee for all startups within our ecosystem to remain a long term contacts beyond the initial advisory offer. We also see ourselves as a contact point for founders with previous negative experiences ( eg. discrimination, sexism ) within the startup world. We have an open ear for all issues and want to create a positive environment for everyone during and after the founding phase.

Equality of opportunity at VentureVilla

We boost founding teams regardless of gender, ethnicity, age and sexuality. We do not tolerate discrimination in any shape or form in our environment. Everyone receives the same chance to grow through our offer - that is both true for the 100 day Accelerator-Program, as well as for our further development options at the Digital Academy. It is our vision to be a counterbalance to the structural discrimination of certain groups of people in the start up world and to pave the way for more equality in the branch. Hannover and Lower Saxony are colorful and that is exactly how the startup world should be as well!

Experience reports (content warning: sexism)

In the course of our work, we aim to be transparent about the barriers within the startup scene. One of them is sexism. We have therefore asked for testimonials to pinpoint sexism and highlight real life situations in which it happened. The following video is the result of that.

en_GBEnglish

Mission Statement

Die VentureVilla ist ein Safer Space für Startups und steht für Chancengleichheit und Diversität.

Hintergrund

Der Startup-Gründerinnenanteil in Deutschland liegt aktuell bei 15,7% (Quelle: Female Founders Monitor) und weibliche Teams sind auch bei der Finanzierung durch „gender bias“ benachteiligt.

Ursache hierfür ist strukturelle Diskriminierung in der Startup-Branche. Auch Gründer*innen in unserem Umfeld berichten uns häufig von Diskriminierungserfahrungen, die sie machen mussten. Bei uns in der VentureVilla fördern wir alle Startup-Gründer*innen gleichermaßen, unabhängig von Geschlecht, Herkunft oder anderen Eigenschaften. Für uns ist das selbstverständlich, doch in der Branche leider noch lange kein Standard. Deswegen haben wir uns entschieden, unsere Haltung intensiver zu kommunizieren.

VentureVilla als Safer Space

Durch unser Beratungsangebot für Startups im Bereich Web- und Softwaretechnologie sind wir vertrauensvolle Partner*innen für Gründungsteams. Wir nehmen unsere Verantwortung gegenüber der Startups ernst und ermöglichen in der VentureVilla einen Safer Space für Gründer*innen. Dazu gehört, dass wir einander vertrauen, respektvoll miteinander umgehen und für alle Startups in unserem Ökosystem auch über das reguläre Beratungsangebot hinaus langfristig Ansprechpartner*innen bleiben. Außerdem verstehen wir uns als Anlaufstelle für  Gründer*innen, die in der Vergangenheit negative Erfahrungen (z.B. Diskriminierung und Sexismus) in der Startup-Branche gemacht haben. Wir haben ein offenes Ohr für alle Anliegen und möchten für alle Menschen ein Umfeld für positive Erfahrungen während und nach der Gründung schaffen.

Chancengleichheit in der VentureVilla

Wir fördern Gründungsteams unabhängig von Geschlecht, Ethnie, Alter und Sexualität. Wir tolerieren in unserem Umfeld keine Diskriminierung jeglicher Art. Bei uns bekommt jede*r die gleiche Chance, sich durch unsere Angebote weiterzuentwickeln – das gilt sowohl für das 100-tägige Accelerator-Programm als auch für die Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten der Digital Academy. Unsere Vision ist es, damit ein Gegengewicht zur strukturellen Diskriminierung bestimmter Personengruppen in der Startup-Szene zu bilden und den Weg für mehr Gleichberechtigung in der Branche zu ebnen. Denn Hannover und Niedersachsen sind bunt und so sollte auch die Startup-Szene sein!

Erfahrungsberichte (Content Warnung: Sexismus)

Im Rahmen unserer Arbeit wollen wir sichtbar machen, welche Barrieren die Startup-Szene setzt. Eine davon ist Sexismus. Wir haben deshalb um Erfahrungsberichte gebeten, um den Sexismus zu benennen und an Situationen aus der Realität aufzuzeigen. Daraus ist das folgende Video entstanden.

de_DEGerman